Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:RELIGION
  • SubGenre:Biblical Studies / History & Culture
  • Language:English
  • Series title:Timeline of Jesus
  • Series Number:1
  • Pages:493
  • eBook ISBN:9781618426185

Jesus and the Gospel Timeline

by Earl C. David, Jr.

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
This second edition of Jesus and the Gospel Timeline has been expanded to include additional information to help us better understand many different subjects such as the new information on the Dead Sea Scrolls. Their importance broadens our understanding of the time in which Jesus lived. There is also new information concerning the 11 caves in which the scrolls were found as well as the enlightening addition concerning the feeding of the five thousand. Graphics have been added which enables maps to be used to trace out the movements of Jesus. Other maps indicate the specific geographical areas where Jesus spoke or performed miracles. All of the photographs are original and provide the reader with a greater appreciation of the power of the Gospel message. In all there are more than 30 graphics from cover to cover.
Earl has never been able to sleep on an airplane. So while sitting there he began thinking and sorting through everything that happened during his trip. His thoughts, unexpectedly, drifted to a novel resting upon his lap. He recalled thinking every book he had ever read consisted of a beginning, middle, and end. But not so with the Gospels! It takes four individual books to tell the whole story and then they still do not conform to a beginning, middle, and end, at least not in a conventional manner. Then the question came, “Why can’t the full Gospel story be presented in a more conventional literary fashion?” He already had the beginning in the birth stories of Matthew and Luke. Like wise the end of the story, Jesus’ death, resurrection, and ascension, were in place as told by all four Gospel writers. All that was missing was a coherent version of the middle section. As he looked at this major component of the Gospel story, it appeared to be literary chaos. This was not used as a derogatory term. It was a way to identify this body of information in which he could not find rhyme or reason, on the basis of a timeline. On his next couple of trips to Israel, Earl determined to listen more carefully to what the people who lived there had to say. That included Palestinians and Jews. It began to dawn on him, that what he was struggling with was the Eastern mindset as differing from his Western mindset. He grew up with the Western mindset, he was educated in it, and it is his natural way of thinking. The basic premise of Jesus and the Gospel Timeline is every event occurs on a timeline within a given context and has a beginning, middle, and end. The goal of Jesus and the Gospel Timeline is to establish as accurately as possible the timeline of Jesus from birth to ascension. No single gospel provides this information per se.
About the author
Earl C. David, Jr. is an Ordained Elder of the United Methodist Church. He has served the local church for forty eight years in Florida, Georgia and Tennessee. He is still active in ministry now in his thirteenth year as Minister of Discipleship at the Collierville United Methodist Church in Collierville, Tennessee. He has made more than 20 trips to the Holy Lands, and has personal contact with Israeli, Palestinian, Greek, and Turkish Christian leaders. Most significantly he is teaching avid seekers, of his local congregation, who are hungry to learn what the Gospels offer.
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.

This site uses cookies. Continuing to use this site without changing your cookie settings means that you consent to those cookies to enhance site navigation and the overall user experience. Learn more about our privacy policy or learn more about how to turn off cookies.