Our site will be undergoing maintenance from 6 a.m. - 6 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 20. During this time, Bookshop, checkout, and other features will be unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Cookies must be enabled to use this website.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:RELIGION
  • SubGenre:Biblical Studies / History & Culture
  • Language:English
  • Series title:Timeline of Jesus
  • Series Number:1
  • Pages:493
  • eBook ISBN:9781618426185

Jesus and the Gospel Timeline

by Earl C. David, Jr.

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
This second edition of Jesus and the Gospel Timeline has been expanded to include additional information to help us better understand many different subjects such as the new information on the Dead Sea Scrolls. Their importance broadens our understanding of the time in which Jesus lived. There is also new information concerning the 11 caves in which the scrolls were found as well as the enlightening addition concerning the feeding of the five thousand. Graphics have been added which enables maps to be used to trace out the movements of Jesus. Other maps indicate the specific geographical areas where Jesus spoke or performed miracles. All of the photographs are original and provide the reader with a greater appreciation of the power of the Gospel message. In all there are more than 30 graphics from cover to cover.
Earl has never been able to sleep on an airplane. So while sitting there he began thinking and sorting through everything that happened during his trip. His thoughts, unexpectedly, drifted to a novel resting upon his lap. He recalled thinking every book he had ever read consisted of a beginning, middle, and end. But not so with the Gospels! It takes four individual books to tell the whole story and then they still do not conform to a beginning, middle, and end, at least not in a conventional manner. Then the question came, “Why can’t the full Gospel story be presented in a more conventional literary fashion?” He already had the beginning in the birth stories of Matthew and Luke. Like wise the end of the story, Jesus’ death, resurrection, and ascension, were in place as told by all four Gospel writers. All that was missing was a coherent version of the middle section. As he looked at this major component of the Gospel story, it appeared to be literary chaos. This was not used as a derogatory term. It was a way to identify this body of information in which he could not find rhyme or reason, on the basis of a timeline. On his next couple of trips to Israel, Earl determined to listen more carefully to what the people who lived there had to say. That included Palestinians and Jews. It began to dawn on him, that what he was struggling with was the Eastern mindset as differing from his Western mindset. He grew up with the Western mindset, he was educated in it, and it is his natural way of thinking. The basic premise of Jesus and the Gospel Timeline is every event occurs on a timeline within a given context and has a beginning, middle, and end. The goal of Jesus and the Gospel Timeline is to establish as accurately as possible the timeline of Jesus from birth to ascension. No single gospel provides this information per se.
About the author
Earl C. David, Jr. is an Ordained Elder of the United Methodist Church. He has served the local church for forty eight years in Florida, Georgia and Tennessee. He is still active in ministry now in his thirteenth year as Minister of Discipleship at the Collierville United Methodist Church in Collierville, Tennessee. He has made more than 20 trips to the Holy Lands, and has personal contact with Israeli, Palestinian, Greek, and Turkish Christian leaders. Most significantly he is teaching avid seekers, of his local congregation, who are hungry to learn what the Gospels offer.