Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available

See inside

Book details
  • Genre:MUSIC
  • SubGenre:History & Criticism
  • Language:English
  • Pages:550
  • Format:Paperback
  • Paperback ISBN:9780578724812

Stacks of Wax

The Complete History of the Record Labels of Cincinnati, Ohio

by David Bottoms View author's profile page

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available

See inside

The book is a history of the numerous record labels based in Cincinnati, Ohio. The most prominent of these was King Records, begun in 1943 by Syd Nathan. The King label included subsidiaries Queen, Federal, DeLuxe, Bethlehem and Audiolab, each important in their own right. Also examined are Fraternity, Rite, Lee, Lucky, Ruby and Saxony, as well as dozens of other small to tiny operations.

The book moves forward chronologically, discussing the city's story with regard to radio and the recording industry as well as placing that story within the larger picture of American popular music and its many and varied forms. 

The city's cultural milieu figured prominently in its growth, and accordingly the story delves into Cincinnati's racial development and relations over time, examining serial influxes of migrants seeking work and the effects such movement and changing populations had on local/regional music. The industry of recorded music is material to the story, as are changing trends in popular tastes, competition at all levels of the business and the impact of entrepreneurial figures on what was largely a very corporate environment. The book offers insight into the very specific importance of independent record companies, their effect on 20th century culture, and their lasting contributions to American creative expression.

About the author
David Bottoms moved to Ohio in 1992 and was immediately struck by the city's tangible history - a cultural legacy contained not only in its layout, architecture, civic pride and vitality but also in its storied creative contributions. As a writer, historian, music lover and record collector he hit upon an idea: why not write the definitive history of Cincinnati's numerous, influential record companies? So began a 25-year project, a vast undertaking of research and critique that examined the city's interpretations of musical styles and forms, from the earliest settlers to the practitioners of today. He hopes the book, through this exhaustive approach, will also provide a meditation upon the country's musical progression at large, thus sparking ongoing scholarship and appreciation.

Book Reviews

to submit a book review
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.

This site uses cookies. Continuing to use this site without changing your cookie settings means that you consent to those cookies to enhance site navigation and the overall user experience. Learn more about our privacy policy or learn more about how to turn off cookies.