Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Literary
  • Language:English
  • Pages:40
  • Format:Paperback
  • Paperback ISBN:9780578302270

Until Now

Five Stories

by Jane Katims

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Until Now, a set of five linked short stories, follows Janey—first as a child, then as an adolescent and adult—as she deals with loss and challenging family dynamics. The settings range from suburban New Jersey to New York to Boston. In the first story, "Without a Hitch," Janey attends the wedding of a cousin who is terrified of getting married. In the title story, "Until Now," she strives to develop her theatrical and artistic talents while struggling with feelings of isolation in the face of her mother's illness and death. In "An Opening Through Time," as she prepares for her own wedding, Janey realizes how profoundly her mother's life trajectory has shaped her own attitudes towards marriage and motherhood. In "Algonquin" and "Pentimento," stories which span decades, Janey inhabits vibrant Manhattan, as well as the quiet Jersey town of her early years—and, in both places, she discovers the mystery and power of memory.
In the story collection Until Now, Janey, the main character and first-person narrator, is in high school when her mother dies from a protracted illness. The stories show—through vivid scenes of childhood and adolescence—the sense of loss and alienation that Janey experiences as a result of her mother's death. The stories then go on to document how Janey uses her experience to grow into a creative adult. An ever-increasing understanding of her past informs her future and insures her resiliency. Characters in the book include: Janey's ailing and distressed mother; her father, who owns a store by the Jersey shore; an array of aunts who live in Brooklyn; and several beloved cousins and neighborhood friends, who substitute for siblings since Janey is an only child. The stories follow Janey through her later years when she marries and has children of her own. These stories appeal to readers who appreciate literary fiction that explores the psychology of loss as well as the fascinating complications and vicissitudes of family relations and friendships.
About the author
Jane Katims has written and co-produced six radio series for Wisconsin Public Radio, one earning her a Peabody Award in Broadcasting. She is the author of the poetry collection, Dancing on a Slippery Floor and has published stories in a number of literary magazines. She teaches literature and creative writing at The Cambridge Center for Adult Education and at Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at Tufts University. Jane is a member of the Board of Visitors of the English Department at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She lives with her family near Boston, Massachusetts.
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.

This site uses cookies. Continuing to use this site without changing your cookie settings means that you consent to those cookies to enhance site navigation and the overall user experience. Learn more about our privacy policy or learn more about how to turn off cookies.