Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Biographical
  • Language:English
  • Pages:316
  • eBook ISBN:9780986102103

The Novelist's Wife

A Literary Romance

by Sasha Bristol

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Overview
In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank, The Novelist’s Wife reimagines a great modern love story: D.H. and Frieda Lawrence behind closed doors. Frieda Weekley felt trapped in a loveless marriage—until she met D.H. Lawrence. After a passionate courtship, they eloped and she became his muse and collaborator but experienced heartbreak when the law allowed her first husband to keep their three young children.
Description
In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank, The Novelist’s Wife reimagines a great modern love story: D.H. and Frieda Lawrence behind closed doors. Frieda Weekley felt trapped in a loveless marriage—until she met D.H. Lawrence. After a passionate courtship, they eloped and she became his muse and collaborator but experienced heartbreak when the law allowed her first husband to keep their three young children. As Frieda traveled the world, she met famous artists, including Virginia Woolf, Katherine Mansfield, Alfred Stieglitz, and Georgia O’Keeffe. Profoundly in love, she shouldered Lawrence’s complicated relationships with John Middleton Murry and others who minimized, and even derided, her influence on his work. As the novelist’s wife, Frieda attracted intense speculation when her husband became known as “the prophet of sex.” Meanwhile, behind the scenes, his health deteriorated drastically—and Frieda stayed by his side. Widely thought to be the model for many of her husband’s characters, including the famous Lady Chatterley, Frieda’s tale reveals secret betrayal at the core of her husband’s most notorious book. Through the hardships of war and the tragedy of fatal illness, Frieda Lawrence challenged stereotypes to fulfill herself as a creative, vibrant woman with “a genius for life.” Her story remains all the more compelling because she inspired D.H. Lawrence’s conviction that “marriage is the clue to human life” and “the secret music” of existence.
About the author
Sasha Bristol loves books, art, film, and the 1920s through the 1960s. Her interest in modern art and literature has taken her to England, France, Italy, and New Mexico, often in quest of famous lives, like those of D.H. and Frieda Lawrence and Georgia O’Keeffe. Though she has roots in North Carolina, she lives in New York City.
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.