Cookies must be enabled to use this website.

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available

See inside

Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:African American / Historical
  • Language:English
  • Pages:192
  • Format:Paperback
  • eBook ISBN:9781098317157
  • Paperback ISBN:9781098317140

Dancing In The White Sand

by Cynthia L. Matlock

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available

See inside

Overview
It's 1859, and Lani, a Yoruba young lady, is torn from the safety of her village in West Africa by marauding men. - this debut novel puts a teenager's prospective on the antebellum South with an unusual choice for her existence or freedom. Lani and her mother, Toluwani, are brought to a Caribbean island where she quickly makes friends with Molayo and other girls who join together for protection and inspiration. Even though she is far from home, Lani is determined to perform an empowering dance from her native land. Ultimately, she's sold, settling in the piney woods of East Texas. Her journey, however, reveals a pathway to freedom in Mexico, hidden talent recognized, and unbelievable hope. On the plantation she must deal with peer pressure, buru folks, and a new giddy feeling of romance for Agibe, or Ben. When the opportunity for freedom is upon her, Lani learns of an impending fire. Should she let the plantation burn, stay and fight, or take this opportunity to run away? She must grow into a woman filled with hope, African customs, Yoruba words, that will strengthen you in knowing your self worth, even today.
Description
It's 1859, and Lani, a Yoruba young lady, is torn from the safety of her village in West Africa by marauding men. - this debut novel puts a teenager's prospective on the antebellum South with an unusual choice for her existence or freedom. Lani and her mother, Toluwani, are brought to a Caribbean island where she quickly makes friends with Molayo and other girls who join together for protection and inspiration. Even though she is far from home, Lani is determined to perform an empowering dance from her native land. Ultimately, she's sold, settling in the piney woods of East Texas. Her journey, however, reveals a pathway to freedom in Mexico, hidden talent recognized, and unbelievable hope. On the plantation she must handle peer pressure, buru folks, bullying, and an unexpected surprise feeling of romance for Agibe, or Ben. When the opportunity for freedom is upon her, Lani learns of an impending fire. Should she let the plantation burn, stay and fight, or take this opportunity to run away? She must grow into a women filled with hope, African customs, Yoruba words, and will strengthen you in knowing your self worth, even today.
About the author
Cynthia L. Matlock grew up on a farm in Texas, and has a BBA degree in business management. She enjoys researching untold and often forgotten stories on African Customs, and Yoruba Language that many Americans may have missed. She's a History Preservationist who encourages Survival skills in others. Fans of LYNN AUSTIN or ZORA Neal Hurston will enjoy her book. She's written several magazine articles, including "Hold that Face" in Autism Parenting. Overcoming Loneliness and Homesickness, she and her husband raise cattle, and she enjoys playing gospel music, and relaxing near a River, muddy pond, or Beach.

Book Reviews

to submit a book review
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.