Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Fantasy / Historical
  • Language:English
  • Series title:The Dalriada Trilogy
  • Series Number:1
  • Pages:206
  • eBook ISBN:9780957271401

The White Mare

Book One of the Dalriada Trilogy

by Jules Watson

Book Image Not Available
Overview
In AD 79, the ruthless governor of Roman Britain turns his attention to his country's last unconquered territory: the land which will one day become Scotland. Rhiann, a courageous and beautiful Scottish princess and priestess scarred by her violent past, is doomed by her noble blood to a forced marriage that aims to protect the freedom of her people. But with war and chaos looming, and the arrival of an enigmatic Irish prince who seeks an alliance to regain his throne, Rhiann is drawn into an unexpected journey of the spirit and heart, and will learn the true purpose of her life.
Description
In AD 79, the ruthless governor of Roman Britain turns his attention to his country's last unconquered territory: the land which will one day become Scotland. Rhiann, a courageous and beautiful Scottish princess and priestess scarred by her violent past, is doomed by her noble blood to a forced marriage that aims to protect the freedom of her people. But with war and chaos looming, and the arrival of an enigmatic Irish prince who seeks an alliance to regain his throne, Rhiann is drawn into an unexpected journey of the spirit and heart, and will learn the true purpose of her life. In the vein of Marion Zimmer Bradley's The Mists of Avalon, The White Mare mixes war, romance, honor, sacrifice, Celtic magic and the passionate desire for freedom from tyranny. The first book in the Dalriada Trilogy is a must-read for fans of historical fiction, fantasy and ancient folklore.
About the author
Jules Watson was born in Australia of English parents, married a Scot and, much later, moved to the Scottish Highlands. As a child she was fascinated by Celtic myths and traditions. Her love for The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley and its folklore inspired the Dalriada Trilogy, stories that mixed history, adventures and battles with romance and Celtic spirituality. The Dalriada Trilogy is based on the historical invasions of Scotland by the invading Roman Empire—'Braveheart', but with Romans! The Trilogy has been published in the US and Canada, the UK, Australia and New Zealand. It was translated into German, French, Spanish, Dutch, and Turkish. Jules currently lives with her husband in the US. In addition to The Dalriada Trilogy, she is the author of The Swan Maiden and The Raven Queen, novelizations of two famous Irish myths.
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.