Our site will be undergoing maintenance from 6 a.m. - 6 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 20. During this time, Bookshop, checkout, and other features will be unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Cookies must be enabled to use this website.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Fantasy / Paranormal
  • Language:English
  • Series title:The Last Pendragons
  • Series Number:1
  • Pages:300
  • eBook ISBN:9781624886553

The Last Pendragons: Book I - The Eyes of Logres

by Paul Toscano

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Nineteen-year-old Rad Denniston is abducted by strange powers and set on a road of self-discovery in this science-fantasy retake of the Arthurian legend. Awakening in an opulent Mediterranean island villa, he learns of his genetic predisposition to paranormal powers and, under the seductive eyes of Rita Smithson, participates in experiments that lead him to the dark borderlands where science and the supernatural converge. Facing his fears and fleeing those he trusted, Rad confronts his destiny in an ancient war between good and evil and engages enemies mortal and demonic to accept his birthright to the oracular green crystals that are Eyes of Logres.
Nineteen-year-old Rad is kidnapped from a deserted California beach by a strange, dark creature. With no memory of this abduction, Rad awakens in a lavish, baroque villa on a Mediterranean island. There Rita Smithson and Dr. Francis Anatoli, colleagues of his recently deceased father, explain that Rad was raised without a knowledge of his origins to protect him from forces bent on destroying his family because of its genetic predisposition to psychic powers such as telekinesis and remote viewing. With the encouragement of the maiden aunt who raised him, Rad agrees to continue his father’s paranormal experiments at the research compound on the island. All the while, a mysterious group in England monitors his movements. Rad becomes romantically involved with Rita and, after several weeks, experiences a psychic breakthrough that astonishes his mentors. Rita and Dr. Anatoli then present Rad with a green crystal in which he alone can witness any historical event he chooses and through which he is able to quickly master other languages. Eventually, he is told that this first crystal has a mate that can show Rad events of the near future. He is asked to use the first crystal to find the hiding place of the second. What Rad is not told is that with both crystals in hand even someone without Rad’s genetic gifts may access and control events past, present, and future. Seeking the second stone, Rad inadvertently witnesses the murder of his friend and valet. Terrified, he steals the crystal and flees. With no clear plan, he stumbles upon some young tourists, Maren O’Neill and her brother Fitzwilliam. Rad convinces them of his plight and with their help makes his way to England and the convent of St. Anne’s, which rests on the ruins of Logres, the spiritual heart of the British Isles, the home of the oracular crystals. In England Rad learns how his life has been spared from premature involvement in a centuries-old war between good and evil and of the role the parents he never knew played in that conflict. Rad also learns his true identity, its connection to king Arthur, and the role he is asked to play. Coming to terms with his fears, he engages enemies mortal, demonic, and alien to discover the meaning and destiny of the eyes of Logres.
About the author
Paul Toscano, an attorney, essayist, lecturer, and published author and co-author of several books of non-fiction, including: • The Sanctity of Dissent (a justification of religious dissent) • The Sacrament of Doubt (religious essays) • Music and the Broken Word (a parody of Mormon hymns, co-author) • Invisible Religion in the Public Schools (analysis of establishment clause cases) • Strangers in Paradox: Explorations in Mormon Theology (co-author Margaret Toscano) His scholarly works include: • Measure for Measure: Tragedy and Redemption (BYU Studies); • A Dubious Neutrality: Invisible Religion in the Public Schools (BYU Law Review); • Toward An Architecture of Privacy for the Virtual World (John Marshall Journal of Computer & Information Law). He was one of 100 select participants in the "Cyber Security Planning Summit" sponsored by the Carnegie Mellon Foundation. In the distant past he won the national PBS television “best documentary” award for The Doomsayers and a lesser award for the PBS documentary The Sagebrush Rebellion. He has completed three novels: • Christ on Trial: An Easter Hymn • The Last Pendragons: Book I: The Eyes of Logres The Last Pendragons: Book II: The Oracles at Painted Mesa will be published in early 2013, and Book III: The Ladies, the Lion, and the Unicorn is scheduled for publication in year 2014.