Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • Language:English
  • Series title:"Grace Mc Kenna Series"
  • Series Number:1
  • Pages:198

Simply the Best

by Mary P. Karnes

Book Image Not Available
Overview

Grace Mc Kenna is a spunky, beautiful wedding planner in exclusive Santa Barbara, California. It's not easy being 'wedding planner to the rich and famous', but someone has to do it.  Grace's seemingly ideal life is complicated by a handsome cop ex-husband, a mischievous 11 year old daughter, and oh yes, a murdered assistant who just happens to be the Maid of Honor in her latest wedding. Grace wants to solve the case when her best friend is accused of the murder, but is the cost too great?

Description

Grace Mc Kenna is a spunky, beautiful wedding planner in exclusive Santa Barbara, California. She's always wanted to expand her business and score the big society weddings. Grace's big break comes when her part-time employee, Kelly Delany, is tapped to be Maid of Honor at the Santa Barbara society wedding of the year. But Kelly is not the model Maid of Honor, and is caught by Grace in a compromising position with the groom at the rehearsal dinner. The situation goes from naughty to deadly when Kelly's body is found in Grace's office. Suspect number one is the bridegroom, Blaine Calloway. But he has an ironclad alibi. If the murderer is not Blaine, then maybe it's Caitlyn Malloy, Grace's full time employee. Caitlyn does NOT have an alibi, and the dead Kelly was also sleeping with HER boyfriend. The cops think Caitlyn is the killer and arrest her. Grace can't believe her friend is the murderer, and bails her out. She even asks Caitlyn to move in with her until Caitlyn is cleared. This complicates Grace's relationship with her cop ex-husband, Jack. Grace is still desperately in love with hunky Jack, and he with her. But not even for their 11 year-old daughter, Belle, will Grace take Jack back; for Jack did the unforgivable. He cheated on her. Now, Jack is none too pleased his family is sheltering a murder suspect. Grace decides she's going to solve this murder, help Caitlyn, get Jack off her back, and save her business. Grace's hunt takes her all through Southern California, from the darling resort town of Ojai, to the wine country of the Central Coast. Shocking details surface about the Mother of the Bride, and the Father of the Groom, and their relationship as teens. When Grace is abducted and roughed up, she knows she's on the right track. But is the cost too great? Fans of Diane Mott Davidson's 'Goldy Schultz' series and Janet Evanovitch's 'Stephanie Plum' series will enjoy.

About the author

Mary P Karnes received her Bachelor of Arts in Writing from the University of Redlands in Redlands, California. She currently resides with her family in New England. "Simply the Best" is the first book in the "Grace Mc Kenna" series.

Give Us Feedback

Help make our site better and easier to use!
We read all feedback carefully, but we cannot respond to the comments you submit.

Your feedback has been submitted successfully. Thank you.
close window
Sending
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.