Our site will be undergoing maintenance from 6 a.m. - 6 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 20. During this time, Bookshop, checkout, and other features will be unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Cookies must be enabled to use this website.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • Language:English
  • Series title:Harriet Wakefield Mysteries
  • Series Number:1
  • Pages:236
  • eBook ISBN:9781624886454

Nightmare in the Attic

Harriet Wakefield Mystery

by E. E. Leswing

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Art professor Wakefield turns sleuth. All of her activities concern art or antiques.
Nightmare in the Attic takes place in the wine country in Napa Valley, California. It is the story of a brilliant young artist turned forger by impatience and greed. When a famous sculptor is found dead (accident or murder?), Harriet becomes involved. At first she gets side-tracked by several other players who turn out to be benign, however, beyond their penchant for money. During the course of Harriet's investigation a number of gruesome and mysterious murders are committed. When she finds herself trapped in the attic of a house by whom she thinks of as the murderer and a fire she herself has started, fueled by priceless paintings, much of the conundrum becomes clear; but it isn't until she uses her intuition that she finally unmasks the killer--someone she never suspected.
About the author
ELLIE LESWING has been a book editor for over twenty-five years. After retirement she has devoted her time to free-lance writing with emphasis on Mysteries.