Our site will be undergoing maintenance from 6 a.m. - 6 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 20. During this time, Bookshop, checkout, and other features will be unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Cookies must be enabled to use this website.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Thrillers / General
  • Language:English
  • Pages:242
  • eBook ISBN:9781667886664
  • Paperback ISBN:9781667886657

Gothic Revival

by Michael Mullin

View author's profile page

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Overview
Old friends gather to write ghost stories in the vein of Mary Shelley's iconic creation of Frankenstein only to realize their host is hiding a dark secret.
Description

The Psychological Thriller Inspired by the Creation of Frankenstein

Chris, Anne, Fiona, and Lauren were inseparable friends while earning MFAs in Creative Writing. Years later they've grown apart and are surprised to receive an invitation to a reunion from the fifth member of their group, Eric, a successful screenwriter. Eric flies them to a remote lake villa where he reveals his new obsession: their group is a modern version of the famous one from Villa Diodati in 1816, the iconic literary event during which Frankenstein was created. Chris and Anne are their Percy and Mary Shelley. The free-spirited artist Fiona is like Claire Clairmont. Instead of Dr. Polidori, they have Lauren, PhD in Victorian History. That leaves Eric, the Hollywood player, as Lord Byron. Like Byron, Eric proposes they write ghost stories, an homage to their famous predecessors. Laughter, creativity, and reminiscence are soon replaced with deceit, suspicion, and fear. What is the self-proclaimed clairvoyant Fiona seeing and hearing? Why does Eric lie? What does the creepy old housekeeper know about their host? Tensions grow as relationships are tested until a shocking discovery reveals the true intention for the reunion. Fans of Gillian Flynn, Alex Michaelides, Lisa Jewel, and Alice Feeney will love the suspense and intrigue of Gothic Revival.

About the author
Michael is the author of Simon, a modern-day retelling of Hamlet, and the cult-hit trilogy of twisted fairytales titled TaleSpins. He's a former college professor and preschool teacher who also spent years writing for Disney and other major studios. Michael lives in Pasadena, CA with his wonderful wife Dani and their cool dog Finn. Their twins, Sophie and Max, will soon be college graduates. In addition to writing, Michael is in the vintage collectibles & memorabilia business.