Cookies must be enabled to use this website.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
  • Language:English
  • Series title:The Promises series
  • Series Number:1
  • Pages:274
  • Paperback ISBN:9781667820361

Easy Promises

Book One in the Promises series

by Abby Reilly View author's profile page

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Overview
"Easy Promises", the first book in a new mystery series, examines the thin knife's edge separating romance and betrayal. Fans of Nora Roberts, J. D. Robb, Agatha Christie, and Elizabeth George will enjoy the legal thrills and romantic suspense entwined in a classic murder mystery.
Description
"Easy Promises", the first book in a new mystery series, examines the thin knife's edge separating romance and betrayal. Fans of Nora Roberts, J. D. Robb, Agatha Christie, and Elizabeth George will enjoy the legal thrills and romantic suspense entwined in a classic murder mystery. Murdered lawyer. Indifferent detectives. Elusive suspects. Coerced betrayal. Just another day in Philadelphia. When Philadelphia police discover the body of lawyer Sean Murphy, a senior partner at Murphy, Murphy & Flannigan equally renown for defending guilty criminals and seducing defenseless clients, the firm's young associate Andrew Sullivan could really use an alibi (which he doesn't have), a defense against allegations of raping Sean's daughter (which he didn't do) and an explanation for why he was kissing Sean's girlfriend Darcy Flanigan (which he did do and thoroughly enjoyed) shortly before the murder. The homicide investigation initially focuses on Drew as the detectives joyously exact revenge for all his 'not guilty' verdicts. But when the focus shifts to Darcy, Drew's legal instincts and emotional bond compel him to defend Darcy's innocence. Under intense interrogation, Darcy confesses to seeing Drew at the scene of the crime. Truthful statements from anyone who knew Sean prove elusive. The detectives must sift through the lawyers' lies and deception to solve the crime before the killer strikes gain. But preventing someone from killing successful criminal defense attorneys isn't really high on the detectives' list of things to do today.
About the author
As a Pennsylvania lawyer, Abby Reilly writes for a living during the day and for enjoyment at night. She chooses to write under a pen name to avoid potential retaliation from colleagues who may not be enamored with her depiction of the legal profession.
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.