Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Literary
  • Language:English
  • Pages:264
  • eBook ISBN:9781927053027

Up and Down on the Downtown Eastside

by Chris Walter View publisher's profile page

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Overview
As gentrification closes in on Canada’s poorest postal code, rival factions battle for control of the lucrative drug trade, plunging the neighbourhood into chaos. Politically charged yet darkly comic, Up and Down on the Downtown Eastside is sure to both horrify and delight.
Description
Up and Down on the Downtown Eastside is a fast-paced but harsh story involving drug addicts and other low income residents in the ghetto that is Vancouver's drug-ravaged Downtown Eastside. Fans of Irvine Welsh and Hunter S Thompson will appreciate the non-stop black humour that prevents the book from being dragged down by the bleakness and intensity of the subject matter. Although highly entertaining, this novel, like all of Walter's work, is not for the easily offended or weak of heart.
About the author
Chris Walter, a recovering drug addict and hope-to-die punk rocker, began writing purposefully in 1998 after realizing that his life up to that point had been meaningless. With help from his girlfriend who worked at a printing shop, he started Gofuckyerself Press and began to write and distribute a series of punk fiction novels. His first published work, Punk Rules OK (Burn Books, 2002) went largely unnoticed except by detractors, inspiring him to return to pirate-style DIY operations. Gofuckyerself Press then expanded to include unschooled troublemakers Simon Snotface, Stewart Black, and Australian Drew Gates, drawing further criticism from the established literary industry. To date GFY Press has published twenty one titles including Chris' latest music biography, Argh Fuck Kill: The Story of the DayGlo Abortions.
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.