Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • SubGenre:Personal Memoirs
  • Language:English
  • Pages:198
  • Format:Paperback
  • Paperback ISBN:9781543980189

More Mischievous in Mendham

A Collection of Childhood Memories

by Gregory L. Smith

Book Image Not Available
Overview
More Mischievous in Mendham is the follow-up to Mischievous in Mendham, an anthology of comic memoirs based on the author's childhood in Mendham, New Jersey. In eighteen new stories, Gregory L. Smith uses ordinary situations and his own experiences to explore growing up not only in his hometown of Mendham, but within the fabric of American family life. Full of wit, warmth, and nostalgia, More Mischievous in Mendham will speak to all adults with fond memories of youth.
Description
More Mischievous in Mendham is the follow-up to Mischievous in Mendham, an anthology of comic memoirs based on the author's childhood in Mendham, New Jersey. In eighteen new stories, Gregory L. Smith uses his own experiences to explore growing up not only in his hometown of Mendham, but within the fabric of American family life. Full of wit, warmth, and nostalgia, More Mischievous in Mendham will speak to all adults with fond memories of youth. Using small and ordinary situations, Smith explores the often difficult-to-find humor in coming of age. From getting stuck inside his parents' living room fireplace chimney in an attempt to prove that Santa wouldn't fit, to lassoing the Easter Bunny, to knocking out a military communications base with his homemade ham radio, readers will delight in his experiences and even remember their own, similar moments growing up. In the vein of Garrison Keillor, Smith sheds light on a bygone era and encourages readers to relive it with him.
About the author
Gregory Smith is a retired electronic technologist who worked in new product design, electronic test fixture design, and new product compliance to federal, military, and international standards for the Ohaus Corp. and ASCO Power Technologies/Emerson Network Power. At Gow-Mac Instrument Company, he wrote instruction manuals for all their products. He attended both County College of Morris and National Radio Institute in Washington, D.C. His interest in radio communication began in seventh grade when he became a radio amateur, and then near retirement achieved his Advanced Class FCC License of W2GLS. In 2006, he began writing for Monitoring Times Magazine with "Tales of a Teenage Radio Amateur," then became a regular writer for the magazine. Three of his stories were chosen as cover stories. "Who Really Invented Morse Code" unveiled the truth that Alfred Vail was the real inventor of Morse code. "How to Catch a Spy," kept readers on the edge of their seats as the author and three other radio amateurs triangulated a spy's location in PA, reporting it to the FBI. Years later, CBS broadcasted on "60 Minutes" "The Spy Among Us", believed to be the same spy. In 2018 he published his first book—Mischievous in Mendham, a Collection of Childhood Memories. He is a member of Tom Cantillon's Creative Writers' Group in Chatham.
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.