Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available

See inside

About the author


Silas Barrow was born to salt-of-the-earth, blue-collar parents. He has worked as a farmhand, a painter, and an award-winning journalist. He lives in a working class neighborhood.
Read more
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available

See inside

For Their Blood Burns Wild
by Silas Barrow

Overview


In the vein of The Grapes of Wrath, For Their Blood Burns Wild is a story of abuse of power and corruption, prejudice, family, community and survival that is eerily prescient of today's political climate.
Read more

Description


In the vein of The Grapes of Wrath, For Their Blood Burns Wild is a story of abuse of power and corruption, prejudice, family, community and survival that is eerily prescient of today's political climate. In 1938, the American government and religious institutions used the faulty science of eugenics to forcefully sterilize "Impures". Under the Genetic Reclamation Act, those deemed impure – criminals, homosexuals, the insane or anyone with a history of disability in their family, are rounded up by agents of the newly created Eugenics Bureau, an offshoot of the FBI, and sterilized. Impure families are torn apart, forced into ghettos with other Impures, their property seized by the government and can only hold menial jobs. Those who refused to comply, fled to the overcrowded slums to try and disappear, or carved out meager existences in the tunnels below the city. When their daughter Esther is born blind, Jim, Rita, and their son Jack, fled their previous lives under the veil of darkness, trying to survive on the outskirts of humanity while avoiding Eugenics agents. Huddled under a bridge one night, the family is viciously attacked by a group of "Pures" lead by the son of the powerful Senator Blackthorpe, who drafted the cruelest parts of the Genetic Reclamation Act. Jim, Rita and their children are rescued by Lazarus, a former prize fighter, who brings the family to The Burrow, an abandoned rail station in the train tunnels below the city where they meet other Impures on the run. Unbeknownst to the family, they are being pursued by the Eugenics Bureau's merciless Special Agent Artemis Pembroke, a sociopath and fervent believer in social purity, who has been instructed by Sen. Blackthorpe to use whatever means necessary to bring those responsible for the death of his son to him.
Read more

Overview


In the vein of The Grapes of Wrath, For Their Blood Burns Wild is a story of abuse of power and corruption, prejudice, family, community and survival that is eerily prescient of today's political climate.

Read more

Description


In the vein of The Grapes of Wrath, For Their Blood Burns Wild is a story of abuse of power and corruption, prejudice, family, community and survival that is eerily prescient of today's political climate. In 1938, the American government and religious institutions used the faulty science of eugenics to forcefully sterilize "Impures". Under the Genetic Reclamation Act, those deemed impure – criminals, homosexuals, the insane or anyone with a history of disability in their family, are rounded up by agents of the newly created Eugenics Bureau, an offshoot of the FBI, and sterilized. Impure families are torn apart, forced into ghettos with other Impures, their property seized by the government and can only hold menial jobs. Those who refused to comply, fled to the overcrowded slums to try and disappear, or carved out meager existences in the tunnels below the city. When their daughter Esther is born blind, Jim, Rita, and their son Jack, fled their previous lives under the veil of darkness, trying to survive on the outskirts of humanity while avoiding Eugenics agents. Huddled under a bridge one night, the family is viciously attacked by a group of "Pures" lead by the son of the powerful Senator Blackthorpe, who drafted the cruelest parts of the Genetic Reclamation Act. Jim, Rita and their children are rescued by Lazarus, a former prize fighter, who brings the family to The Burrow, an abandoned rail station in the train tunnels below the city where they meet other Impures on the run. Unbeknownst to the family, they are being pursued by the Eugenics Bureau's merciless Special Agent Artemis Pembroke, a sociopath and fervent believer in social purity, who has been instructed by Sen. Blackthorpe to use whatever means necessary to bring those responsible for the death of his son to him.

Read more

Book details

Genre:FICTION

Subgenre:Alternative History

Language:English

Pages:382

Format:Paperback

Paperback ISBN:9781543975741


Overview


In the vein of The Grapes of Wrath, For Their Blood Burns Wild is a story of abuse of power and corruption, prejudice, family, community and survival that is eerily prescient of today's political climate.

Read more

Description


In the vein of The Grapes of Wrath, For Their Blood Burns Wild is a story of abuse of power and corruption, prejudice, family, community and survival that is eerily prescient of today's political climate. In 1938, the American government and religious institutions used the faulty science of eugenics to forcefully sterilize "Impures". Under the Genetic Reclamation Act, those deemed impure – criminals, homosexuals, the insane or anyone with a history of disability in their family, are rounded up by agents of the newly created Eugenics Bureau, an offshoot of the FBI, and sterilized. Impure families are torn apart, forced into ghettos with other Impures, their property seized by the government and can only hold menial jobs. Those who refused to comply, fled to the overcrowded slums to try and disappear, or carved out meager existences in the tunnels below the city. When their daughter Esther is born blind, Jim, Rita, and their son Jack, fled their previous lives under the veil of darkness, trying to survive on the outskirts of humanity while avoiding Eugenics agents. Huddled under a bridge one night, the family is viciously attacked by a group of "Pures" lead by the son of the powerful Senator Blackthorpe, who drafted the cruelest parts of the Genetic Reclamation Act. Jim, Rita and their children are rescued by Lazarus, a former prize fighter, who brings the family to The Burrow, an abandoned rail station in the train tunnels below the city where they meet other Impures on the run. Unbeknownst to the family, they are being pursued by the Eugenics Bureau's merciless Special Agent Artemis Pembroke, a sociopath and fervent believer in social purity, who has been instructed by Sen. Blackthorpe to use whatever means necessary to bring those responsible for the death of his son to him.

Read more

About the author


Silas Barrow was born to salt-of-the-earth, blue-collar parents. He has worked as a farmhand, a painter, and an award-winning journalist. He lives in a working class neighborhood.

Read more
Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.