Cookies must be enabled to use this web application.

To allow this site to use cookies, use the steps that apply to your browser below. If your browser is not listed below, or if you have any questions regarding this site, please contact us.

Microsoft Internet Explorer
  • 1. Select "Internet Options" from the Tools menu.
  • 2. Click on the "Privacy" tab.
  • 3. Click the "Default" button.
  • 4. Click "OK" to save changes.
Chrome Chrome
  • 1. Click the "Spanner" icon in the top right of the browser.
  • 2. Click Options and change to the "Under the Hood" tab.
  • 3. Scroll down until you see "Cookie settings:".
  • 4. Set this to "Allow all cookies".
Firefox Firefox
  • 1. Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Options".
  • 2. Click the "Privacy" icon on the top of the window.
  • 3. Click on the "Cookies" tab.
  • 4. Check the box corresponding to "Allow sites to set Cookies.
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Opera Opera
  • 1. Click on the "Tools" menu and then click Preferences.
  • 2. Change to the Advanced tab, and to the cookie section.
  • 3. Select "Accept cookies only from the site I visit" or "Accept cookies".
  • 4. Ensure "Delete new cookies when exiting Opera" is not ticked.
  • 5. Click OK.
Netscape and Mozilla Suite Netscape and Mozilla Suite
  • 1. Select "Preferences" from the Edit menu.
  • 2. Click on the arrow next to "Privacy & Security".
  • 3. Under "Privacy & Security" select "Cookies".
  • 4. Select "Enable all cookies".
  • 5. Click "OK" to save changes.
Safari Safari
  • 1. Click on the "Cog" icon in Safari.
  • 2. Click Preferences.
  • 3. Change to the Security tab.
  • 4. Select "Only from sites I visit" or "Allow".
  • 5. Close the dialog using the cross.
Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Book details
  • Genre:FICTION
  • SubGenre:Coming of Age
  • Language:English
  • Pages:298
  • Format:Paperback
  • eBook ISBN:9781098384739
  • Paperback ISBN:9781098384722

Colors of Truth

by Paula Paul

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Two girls, one black and one white, each living in the same neighborhood but in different worlds, find their lives intertwined one hot summer in Texas in the 1950s. Caroline, the white girl, has taken her privileges for granted. Pearlie, the black girl has learned to keep to herself. Violence in the form of rape and death bring the two together. Gersham Rabinowitz, a holocaust survivor,tries to help the girls navigate the trouble times, but none of them can foresee the life-changing consequences.
Colors of Truth follows the stories of Caroline and Pearlie, two teenage girls growing up in Texas in the 1950s. Though both girls are the same age and growing up in the same town, their lives are very different. Caroline is a white girl, living on a farm with her parents and younger brother and sister. Pearlie is a black girl, living with her parents and siblings. She attends a different school than Caroline, though they do ride the same bus to their schools. She and her family also work in the cotton fields in Caroline's family's farm in the summer. With alternating narrative voices, the reader learns about the events of one summer, when Caroline and Pearlie's lives become intertwined. In addition to the daily prejudice Pearlie faces, she is also the victim of rape that summer. We learn at the end of the book that the same man raped Caroline's younger sister that summer as well. Caroline spends the summer working the fields, dating a new boy, and also becoming closer to the Jewish man who owns a store in town, who teaches her about the Holocaust and the terrible treatment of the Jewish people in Germany during WWII. We also learn at the end of the book that Caroline accidentally stumbles upon the man attempting again rape Pearlie, and when she tries to stop him, she winds up killing him. The story has been told mainly by the grown up Caroline, who has moved back to her family's home, and is waiting for the arrival of her family to celebrate her birthday. This is now sixty years after than fateful summer
About the author
Paula Paul is the award-winning author of more than 30 novels, including the acclaimed and bestselling Alexandra Gladstone historical mystery series. Among her awards are the Texas Institute of Letters Award, a Willa Award, a Readers' Favorite Award, and a National Press Women Award for fiction. She lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico

Thanks for submitting a review!

Your review will need to be approved by the author before being posted.

See Inside
Front Cover

Loading book cover...

Book Image Not Available Book Image Not Available
Session Expiration WarningYour session is due to expire.

Your online session is due to expire shortly.
Would you like to extend your session and remain logged in?

Session Expired

Your session has expired.We're sorry, but your online session has expired.
Please log back into your account to continue.

This site uses cookies. Continuing to use this site without changing your cookie settings means that you consent to those cookies to enhance site navigation and the overall user experience. Learn more about our privacy policy or learn more about how to turn off cookies.